#TysTakeTodayPlaylist: Quarantine Vibes Including Jhené Aiko, Elijah Blake, Neisha Neshae & MORE

As most of the United States and countries all across the world have been advised from state and federal officials to quarantine indoors and have been put on a temporary lock-down to flatten the curve of COVID-19 (coronavirus) cases, one thing remains keeping us together and sane — that thing being music. Check out the music we’re listening to this while while we’re playing it safe and quarantining.

Jhené Aiko, 32, released her latest project titled ‘Chilombo’ earlier this month on March 6th and although I’m a little late too the party, all of my friends have been playing it and using her talents either as background noise during their Instagram LIVE videos or even while driving around in the car. It was a really tough decision for me to chose one song to highlight because the entire album is beyond beautiful. Her single ‘Love’ stuck out to me for being a positive, up-beat, flowery type of anthem. And just in case you weren’t sure what I’m not bossy, I’m the boss / You know I could set it off / But I’d rather use my heart / When I put my faith in God.

‘Chilombo’ means, Jhené told Billboard “Chilombo is a word that means “wild beast” – they’re strong, confident and graceful… Beasts are also beautiful”. The album also includes features from Nas, Ty Dolla $ign, Future and singers such as John Legend, Miguel, H.E.R. and Aiko’s beau himself, Big Sean.

Elijah Blake, 27, is a 2X Grammy Award winning singer and songwriter who just released his latest single called ‘Frenemies’ earlier this week and it is blowing up already on social media and YouTube. At the time of this blog, Elijah has already racked up 35,008 views on the music video. Elijah’s career success include writing for artists such as Keyshia Cole, Rick Ross, Rihanna and Usher. Trust nobody, man I had to learn the hard way // Shooters shootin’ over pennies, I ain’t talkin’ hardaway. Be sure to check out Elijah Blake on Instagram @SirElijahBlake.

Lil Baby, 25, released his latest project titled ‘My Turn‘ and one of my favorites out of this album is called ‘Get Ugly’. Lil Baby is from Atlanta, Georgia. According to Rolling Stone, Baby’s trajectory spiked the moment he started rapping in early 2017, when he got out of jail after serving a two-year bid. It can get ugly (huh) // Would you leave or stay like you love me? // From the bottom, all I know is the struggle // Can’t get no job, so all I know is the hustle.” The media outlet also said “while most rappers dream of making one song with potential to get radio play, Baby makes radio songs in his sleep. My Turn is packed with them, to the point that they start to blur together. It’s an album that exhibits both his floor and his ceiling, as well as his likely position as a staple of Atlanta rap for years to come.

Ypsilanti’s own, Neisha Neshae, 22, teamed up with Ali for her latest project called ‘Pressure’. Neisha Neshae. As many celebs have been using their time during quarantine to post funny videos on Tik Top, Neisha is no stranger to the trendy app. Follow her on Tik Tok at @NeishaNeshae and on Instagram where she frequently goes live.

Let us know what songs you’re listening to during your quarantine either on Facebook at www.Facebook.com/TysTakeDaily, Twitter @TysTakeToday or Instagram @TysTakeTodayOfficial.

Leave a comment